price needs to be normalized when creating itemized invoice

SimpleInvoices Group Forum Forums Fearless359 SimpleInvoices Discussion Group price needs to be normalized when creating itemized invoice

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    joncas
    Participant

When creating a new itemized invoice, i.e.,
    /index.php?module=invoices&view=itemised
    when an item is added, the price is displayed in localized format with thousands separator.
    When saving the invoice, this creates an error “Incorrect decimal value: ‘6,068.83’ for column ‘unit_price’ at row 1” (log file enclosed).
    The solution is to normalize the numbers before inserting them into the database.
    Could you give a hint as to where this can be patched (I’m new to the structure of simple invoices).
    Many thanks!

• This topic was modified 3 years, 10 months ago by joncas.
    Attachments:
    joncas
    Participant

p.s.: Searching the files listed in the error log, it looks like the patch would be on in /modules/invoices/save.php
    the “insert” case on line 71, one should use SiLocal::dbStd($_POST[“unit_price$i”]) instead of the unmodified $_POST[“unit_price$i”] (as the “edit” case does)

• This reply was modified 3 years, 10 months ago by joncas.
    kdj3112
    Participant

Hi joncas,

Good to hear you found and fixed the problem,
    If you have any further questions, feel free to ask.

RRowley
    Participant

I think you addressed a symptom, not the problem. The existing code handles these values fine on my system. What server are you using (XAMPP, WAMP, Linux, etc.)? What version of PHP is running on that server?